When ours Inbox Overwhelmed by unsolicited emails, we have two options. One is to delete mails and the other is to archive them. But before you do that, you must know what a feature does. Nowadays, even our social media apps like WhatsApp and a few others give us the option to archive our conversations so that they are not visible in our inbox / app window.
Let’s discuss how it works
If we delete or archive an email from the inbox, it disappears from the inbox. This means that it will no longer appear in you Gmail Inbox The Folder Archive feature basically removes emails from your view but does not move them to the Trash folder.
When a user clicks the Archive button, the mails are moved to the “Archived” folder. In some email services like Gmail, an archived email does not go to any folder. It is only visible when a user switches to ‘All Mail’ (both web and mobile). Archived mail, however, appears in search results.
If you think of a physical mail, the archive function is like putting it in a place where you can’t see it every day. You can see and read whenever you want.
What happens when you delete a mail
Deleting an email, however, is different. When you delete an unsolicited mail, it moves to the Trash folder before it can be permanently deleted from your account, where it stays for up to 30 days. But if you want to delete the mail completely at once, you can go to the Trash folder after deleting and select the mail there to delete permanently.
The main difference here is that in the case of archived mails, they are never automatically emptied unless the user deletes them. Also, once the mail is deleted, they are no longer visible when you switch to “All Mail”.
What about storage
Archived emails are counted in your email. So, if you want to save storage, archiving is not the solution. Even emails in the Trashbox are counted in your storage until they are deleted. Go to your Trash and select Empty Trash, it will free up space.