Facebook Some services that collect user locations seem to be set to pull the plug. These services are included Close friendsWeather alert, Location history, And other location-based features. The company sends users who have used these services in the past with the same information.
“Nearby friends and weather alerts will no longer be available after May 31, 2022. The information you shared for these experiences, including location history and background location, will no longer be collected after May 31, 2022.” Even if you enable them before, “Facebook said in a statement.
The company has confirmed the same news to The Verge. Company spokesman Emile Vazquez said in an emailed statement, “While we are underestimating the use of some location-based features on Facebook, people can still use the location service to manage how their location information is collected and used.”
However, this does not mean that Facebppk will completely stop users from using location. Intended for users, it states in its note: Facebook will “continue to collect location information for other experiences” to serve relevant ads and location check-in in accordance with its data policy. Yes, users have the ability to view, download or delete data from any location
Facebook messages for users
Since you have previously used a close friend, weather alert, location history or background location, we inform you that these products and features will no longer be available after May 31, 2022. The information you shared was used for these experiences, including location history and background locations, which will stop being collected after May 31, 2022, even if you have previously turned them on. Facebook will continue to collect location information for other experiences otherwise described in our data policy.
Update your settings
You can update your current location history and background location settings Facebook app Until May 31, 2022. After this date, the settings will be disabled.
Accessing your location history
If you wish to view or delete your existing location history, you will be able to access your information and download your information before August 1, 2022. After this date, if you do nothing, your existing location history information will be automatically deleted.