Women AutHer Awards 2022 Longlist announced

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +


The Authors Award 2022 Longlist for Best Female Writer in Fiction, Non-Fiction, Children’s Literature and Debut has been announced today by a panel of eminent judges. The Times of India received over 1500 entries submitted by both publishers and individual authors for the coveted National Award, the first of its kind in India.

The Authors Awards – a joint venture between JK Paper and the Times of India – is a celebration of women writers who have added value and creativity to the literary space. The jury considered women’s books published in India between December 2020 and November 2021.

The longest listed books are (in random order):

Long list of fiction
Non-fiction longlist
Long list of children

Debut longlist

Poet, writer and lyricist Prasoon Joshi (fiction), writer, columnist and former Indian diplomat Rajiv Dogra (non-fiction), translator Arunava Sinha (first) and writer and poet Jerry Pinto were on the jury chair of the Writers’ Award. (Children’s books).

Talking about his experience as a jury chair (non-fiction), Rajiv Dogra said, “Going through about two dozen books was an experience in itself. While this was a big task and responsibility, it was interesting to see the diversity that women writers are creating in the non-fiction field.

“There were books on the history of female doctors in India, asylum in India and their plight in the past, along with other young writers who were frank, open and – in some cases – very outspoken in their views. It has been a pleasure to read such books. I think India can wait for many more exciting books, “he added.

Meanwhile, Arunava Sinha, Jury Chair (debut) said, “This is a very important award and it is great that the Times of India has chosen to establish this award for women writers. It was about reading all the books and working with the members of the jury to identify the long list. ”

Other members of the jury include bestselling author Ravi Subramanian (fiction), screenwriter and columnist Advaita Kala (fiction), professor and historian Christine Cornet (fiction), writer and historian Swapna Liddle (non-fiction), author (Rob) Poet, writer and translator Saba Bashir (debut), television presenter, actress and model Amrita Raichand (children), and educationist Sujata Naronha (children).

Talking about his experience as Author Award and Jury Chair (Children’s Book), Jerry Pinto said,

“Children’s publications in India have recently seen a roar. But often it seems that we are stuck in an old way of looking at children as a source of knowledge, as little people who need to be guided to the finer points of politics and society. I think this is a mistake, especially when children are reluctant to read. All we have to do is bring them in and let them find their way to the joy of reading. Today, we are working with children who have multiple ways of entertaining. We need to entice them with entertaining and enjoyable stories. We at the jury hope that all the writers for children will not forget the joy they get from their lessons and the joy they want to give children. It would be nice if we could just make the kids happy, and that was the guiding principle of our selection process, “he added.

The books under consideration went through multiple levels of screening before reaching the final jury.

Binita Daora Nangia, literary director of the award, said: For example – whether it deals with the subject or not – the result is a telling statement of the indomitable consciousness of humanity in adverse times. It is a time when people are forced to read and write in an attempt to decipher events and experiences outside of our familiar experiences. We are pleased to announce that we have received more books from women writers for consideration this year than the previous two editions of the Women Writers Award. The Author Award aims to encourage more women to express themselves through writing and to bring about a positive change in the somewhat slanted gender equation in the publishing industry.

The shortlist for the Author Award will be announced March 22.

The winners will be announced at a glittering ceremony in New Delhi. The best winners in the four categories will be awarded cash prizes and a Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to a female author for her long-term contribution to literature.

For longlist, please log in: https://autherawards.in/




About Author

Leave A Reply